Federal Resources for Rural and Tribal Communities

To address challenges in rural and tribal communities, President Obama established the Promise Zones initiative to create opportunity, engage stakeholders on issues and solutions, and promote and coordinate private sector partnerships.

Through the Promise Zones initiative, the Obama Administration is committed to partnering with local and state governments and private sector and non-profit organizations to create jobs; leverage private investment; increase economic activity; expand educational opportunities; and reduce violent crime.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is leading this effort in close collaboration with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and the 10 federal Promise Zones partner agencies to provide resources and expertise to rural and tribal Promise Zones to expand economic mobility and opportunity in their communities.

Rural and Tribal Promise Zones

On January 9, 2014, President Obama announced the first rural and tribal designated Promise Zones in a ceremony at the White House. They are located in Southeastern Kentucky and the Choctaw Nation in southeast Oklahoma. Each designee has put forward a plan on how they will partner with local business and community leaders to make investments that reward hard work and expand opportunity.

On April 28, 2015 the Obama Administration announced the second round of rural and tribal designated Promise Zones. They are located in the South Carolina Low Country and Pine Ridge Indian Reservation of the Oglala Sioux Tribe.

On June 6, 2016, the Administration announced the final round of rural and tribal promise zone designations. The new Promise Zones include communities in: Southwest Florida; Spokane Indian Reservation, Washington; Roosevelt Roads, Puerto Rico; and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, North Dakota.

Each designee has put forward a plan on how they will partner with local business and community leaders to make investments that reward hard work and expand opportunity.

A federal liaison will be assigned in each designated community to help leaders and partners navigate the federal resources they need to accelerate efforts to revitalize their communities.

Promise Zone designations will have a term of ten years and may be extended as necessary to capture the full term of availability of the Promise Zone tax incentives if enacted by Congress.

During this term, the specific benefits made available to Promise Zones will vary from year to year, and sometimes more often than annually, due to changes in the agency policies and changes in appropriations and authorizations for relevant programs. All assistance provided to Promise Zones is subject to applicable regulations, statutes, and changes in federal agency policies, appropriations, and authorizations for relevant programs.

Partnership through Collaboration

The Promise Zones initiative is developing and testing ways to align federal programs more efficiently to the priorities set out by community leaders. The processes, strategies and innovations achieved in these communities can be used to improve how the federal agencies interact with communities across the country.

HUD has compiled funding opportunities and program information from the 13 federal partners who are participating in the Promise Zones initiative. View a list of the federal agencies along with the programs affiliated with the Promise Zones initiative.

The information made available on the Promise Zones website about programs, technical assistance and other supports will be useful to non-designated communities working on community revitalization efforts. All of the programs that provide preferential access to Promise Zones are also available to other communities.

For further updates, please subscribe to the Promise Zones Mailing List.

Contact Information

Email: promisezones@hud.gov

Phone: 877-787-2526 or 202-708-2290


Promise Zones Overview

Promise Zones Designees, Finalists, and Applicants

Federal Partner Funding and Technical Assistance Opportunities

New HUD Funding Opportunities

Rural Gateway

Strike Force (USDA)

President Obama and the Native American Community

Federal Partner Native American and Tribal Affairs Resources

White House Rural Council

Let's Move in Indian Country

Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership (IMCP)