HOPWA National Technical Assistance

Purpose

The goal of HOPWA Technical Assistance (TA) is to strengthen the management, operation, and capacity of HOPWA grantees, project sponsors, and assist communities in identifying and addressing the supportive housing needs for low-income individuals and their families living with HIV/AIDS.

HOPWA grantees and sponsors interested in requesting TA should reach out to their local HUD Field Office.

HOPWA Ask a Question

HOPWA program and policy-related questions should be submitted to Ask A Question. This tool enables HOPWA grantees, project sponsors, and stakeholders to ask program and policy questions via an online process and to receive timely responses to their questions by HOPWA Technical Assistance Providers. HOPWA TA Providers should no longer be emailed directly.

Request Technical Assistance

Request Technical Assistance provides access to both on-call technical assistance and on-site technical assistance. On-call technical assistance provides access to up to 16 hours of remote technical assistance to address complex HOPWA program management issues. On-site technical assistance is provided if on-call technical assistance is not sufficient to address a complex HOPWA program management issue.

Grantees may submit a technical assistance request through the TA Portal. Interested project sponsors should connect with their HOPWA grantee to pursue this resource. Grantees should work in partnership with project sponsors to coordinate project sponsor technical assistance requests.

Note: You must have a HUD Exchange account in order to submit a TA request. To create an account click on “Create Account” on the HUD Exchange login page.

HOPWA Data Verification

Summit Consulting, LLC (Summit) and The Cloudburst Group (Cloudburst) provide data verification services to HOPWA grantees completing the Annual Progress Reports (APRs) and Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Reports (CAPERs). To learn more, read the HOPWA Announcement of New Technical Assistance Support Partners.

The direct contact information for staff at each firm is as follows; however, to ensure HUD has copies of all performance reports, please submit all report submissions directly to HOPWA@hud.gov.

Summit Consulting and The Cloudburst Group

Collaborative Solutions Inc.

Performance Reporting Data Verification (APR/CAPER)

Performance Reporting Technical Assistance (IDIS)

Heather Rhoda, Senior Analyst
Cloudburst Group
heather.rhoda@cloudburstgroup.com
(240) 582-3635 (office)
(301) 918-4900 (fax)

Jonathan Sherwood, Manager
Cloudburst Group
jonathan.sherwood@cloudburstgroup.com
(978) 792-5650 (office)
(301) 918-4900 (fax)

Becky Blalock, Project Specialist
Collaborative Solutions, Inc.
(757) 634-9913 (office)
Becky@collaborative-solutions.net
 

HOPWA Headquarters Desk Officers

HOPWA Headquarters Desk Officers and the field office areas to which they are assigned are listed below.

HUD Desk Officer

Contact Information

Field Office Area

Porchia Smith

Phone: (202) 412-8102
Porchia.M.Smith@hud.gov

Indiana; Iowa; Pennsylvania; Utah; Nevada; Vermont

Claire Donze

Phone: (202) 402-2365
Claire.L.Donze@hud.gov

Arizona; California; Colorado; Hawaii; Montana; North Dakota; South Dakota

Benjamin Ayers or Erik Hyska

Phone: (202) 402-2201/5241
Benjamin.L.Ayers@hud.gov, Erik.R.Hyska@hud.gov

Alaska; Alabama; Idaho; Kentucky; Oregon; South Carolina; Tennessee; Washington

Katie Pittenger

Phone: (202) 402-4642
Katherine.Pittenger2@hud.gov

Kansas; Maine; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; Nebraska; Wisconsin

Shalonda Kelly

Phone: (202) 402-3064 x5028
Shalonda.M.Kelly@hud.gov

Arkansas; Connecticut; Louisiana; Maryland; North Carolina; Oklahoma; Virginia; West Virginia; New Jersey

Jeff Kiemen

Phone: (202) 402-7302
Jeffrey.T.Kiemen@hud.gov

Illinois; New York; New Mexico; Virgin Islands; Massachusetts; Delaware; Rhode Island; Mississippi

Vanessa Larkin

Phone: (202) 402-2633
Vanessa.T.Larkin@hud.gov

District of Columbia; Georgia; New Hampshire; Ohio; Puerto Rico; Texas; Wyoming; Florida