Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, known as the Fair Housing Act, requires HUD and recipients of federal funds from HUD to affirmatively further the policies and purposes of the Fair Housing Act, also known as “affirmatively further fair housing” or “AFFH.” The obligation to affirmatively further fair housing requires recipients of HUD funds to take meaningful actions, in addition to combating discrimination, that overcome patterns of segregation and foster inclusive communities free from barriers that restrict access to opportunity based on protected characteristics, which are:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex (including sexual orientation and gender identity)
  • Familial Status
  • Disability

Generally, in administering programs and activities relating to housing and community development, the federal government, HUD, and its recipients must:

  • Determine who lacks access to opportunity and address any inequity among protected class groups
  • Promote integration and reduce segregation
  • Transform racially or ethnically concentrated areas of poverty into areas of opportunity

For more information on AFFH, view the AFFH page on