HUD Environmental Staff Contacts

HUD has expert staff in locations around the country to assist persons involved in the environmental review of HUD-funded projects to answer questions about the environmental review policies, processes, and specific projects. The first step should be to contact them via email with any questions that you cannot answer by browsing the basic information available on this web site.

Headquarters Environmental Staff: HUD’s Office of Environment and Energy includes various national level specialists headquartered in Washington, DC.

Program Environmental Clearance Officers: Program Officers that are knowledgeable about specific program areas within HUD may be able to provide additional information about environmental issues pertaining to their area.

Regional and Field Environmental Officers: Locate your nearest HUD professional environmental staff person who can help you understand how to use the environmental assessment process to improve the quality of your project.

If you are unsure of your assigned region, use the "Find Your Region" tool.

Find by Contact Type

Region I

States

Name

Phone

CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT

Martha A. Curran 
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Boston Regional Office
10 Causeway Street, Room 535
Boston, MA  02222-1092
Martha.A.Curran@hud.gov

(617) 994-8363

Region II

States

Name

Phone

NY

Therese J. Fretwell
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - New York City Regional Office
26 Federal Plaza
New York, NY 10278
Therese.J.Fretwell@hud.gov


(212) 542-7445

NY

Lynn Rakos
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - New York City Regional Office
26 Federal Plaza
New York, NY 10278
Lynn.Rakos@hud.gov

(212) 542-7117


NJ

Michael R. Furda
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Newark Field Office
One Newark Center
1085 Raymond Boulevard
Newark, NJ 07102
Michael.R.Furda@hud.gov

(973) 776-7202

NJ

Donna Mahon
Field Environmental Officer (Disaster Recovery – CT and NJ)
HUD - Newark Field Office
One Newark Center
1085 Raymond Boulevard
Newark, NJ 07102
Donna.Mahon@hud.gov

(973) 776-7260

Region III

States

Name

Phone

PA (SE, Philadelphia, CDBG Small Cities), DE, MD, DC

Paul J. Lehmann
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Philadelphia Field Office
The Wanamaker Building
100 Penn Square East, 11th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Paul.J.Lehmann@hud.gov

(215) 430-6636

WV, PA (NW - SW - NE)

Michael E. Whitelock
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Pittsburgh Field Office
Moorhead Federal Building
1000 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Michael.E.Whitelock@hud.gov

(412) 644-6932

VA

Kerry Johnson
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Richmond Field Office
600 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219-1800
Kerry.Johnson@hud.gov

(804) 822-4803

Region IV

States

Name

Phone

AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, PR, NC, SC, TN, USVI

Ramona K. McConney
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD – Atlanta Regional Office
40 Marietta Street
Atlanta, GA 30303
Ramona.K.McConney@hud.gov

(678) 732-2394

FL

Region4OEE@hud.gov

 

PR, USVI

Jose A. Cedeno-Maldonado
Field Environmental Officer
HUD – Caribbean Field Office
Parque Las Americas 1
235 Federico Costa Street, Suite 200
San Juan, PR 00918
Jose.A.CedenoMaldonado@hud.gov

(787) 274-5816

AL, TN

Chuck Melton
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Atlanta Regional Office
40 Marietta Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Chuck.A.Melton@hud.gov

(678) 732-2133

NC, SC

Lenwood E. Smith
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Greensboro Field Office
1500 Pinecroft Road, Suite 401
Greensboro, NC 27407
Lenwood.E.Smith@hud.gov

(336) 851-8054

Region V

States

Name

Phone

IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI

Melanie H. Castillo
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Chicago Regional Office
Metcalf Fed. Bldg.
77 W. Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60604-3507
Melanie.H.Castillo@hud.gov

(312) 913-8723

OH, MI

Omri Gross
Field Environmental Officer
200 N. High St., 7th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Omri.Gross@hud.gov

(614) 280-6200

MN, WI

David A. Nuccio
920 Second Avenue South
Suite 1300
Minneapolis, MN 55402
David.A.Nuccio@hud.gov

(612) 843-6417

Region VI

States

Name

Phone

San Antonio Field Office, NM, Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA), Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA)

David Storms
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
307 W. 7th St.
Suite 1000
Fort Worth, TX 76102
David.A.Storms@hud.gov

(817) 978-5540

Southern Plains Office of Native American Program (SPONAP), LA, OK

Chantal McKenzie
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
307 W. 7th St.
Suite 1000
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Grace.C.Mckenzie@hud.gov

(817) 978-5623

Fort Worth Field Office, Houston Field Office, AR

Laura L. Myers
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
307 W. 7th St.
Suite 1000
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Laura.L.Myers@hud.gov

(817) 978-5947

Region VI CDBG-DR

Kelly S. Warner
Field Environmental Officer (Disaster Recovery – Region 6)
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
307 W. 7th St.
Suite 1000
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Kelly.S.Warner@hud.gov

(817) 978-5622

Region VII

States

Name

Phone

KS, NE, IA, MO

Paul F. Mohr
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Kansas City Regional Office
400 State Street, Rm 200
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Paul.F.Mohr@hud.gov

(913) 551-5818

Region VIII

States

Name

Phone

KS, NE, IA, MO, CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY

Paul F. Mohr
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Kansas City Regional Office
400 State Street
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Paul.F.Mohr@hud.gov

(913) 551-5818

CO, MT, ND, SD, WY, UT

Jerimiah J. Sanders
1670 Broadway Blvd.
25th Floor
Denver, CO 80202
Jerimiah.J.Sanders@hud.gov

(303) 672-5282

Region IX

States

Name

Phone

AS, GU, HI, MP, CA (Butte, Humboldt, Nevada, Placer, and Yuba Counties)

G. Morgan Griffin
Regional Environmental Officer
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Region 9
One Sansome Street, Suite 1200
San Francisco, CA 94104
Morgan.Griffin@hud.gov

(415) 489-6731

NV, CA (Imperial, Kings, Los Angeles, Madera, Mendocino, Orange, Riverside, Shasta, Tulare, and Yolo Counties)

Elizabeth McDargh
Field Environmental Officer
Los Angeles Federal Building
HUD - Los Angeles Field Office (LAFO)
300 North Los Angeles Street, Suite 4054
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Elizabeth.Mcdargh@hud.gov

(213) 534-2578

AZ, CA (Alameda, Contra Costa, Fresno, Marin, Merced, Sacramento, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, and Stanislaus Counties)

Stan Toal
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - San Francisco Regional Office
Region 9, Office of Environment and Energy
One Sansome Street, Suite 1200
San Francisco, CA 94104
Stanley.W.Toal@hud.gov

(415) 489-6668

CA (Kern, Los Angeles, Monterey, Napa, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sutter, Ventura Counties, and City of Los Angeles)

Bonnie J. Hulkower
Field Environmental Officer
Los Angeles Federal Building
HUD - Los Angeles Field Office (LAFO)
300 North Los Angeles Street, Suite 4054
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Bonnie.J.Hulkower@hud.gov

(213) 534-2539

Region X

States

Name

Phone

WA, ID, OR, AK

Brian Sturdivant
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Seattle Regional Office
909-1st Avenue, Suite 255
Seattle, WA 98104-1000
Brian.Sturdivant@hud.gov
Website

(206) 220-5377

Headquarters Environmental Staff

Room 7282
451 7th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20410

Name

Subject Area

Email

Phone

Moriel-Elorm Tchaou
Acting Director, Office of Environment and Energy

 

Marcel.K.Tchaou@hud.gov

(202) 402-7077

Lauren McNamara
Director, Environmental Review Division

 

Lauren.B.McNamara@hud.gov

(202) 402-4466

Saad Akhdar
Office Assistant

 

Sadaaquat.Akhdar@hud.gov

(202) 402-4203

Nancy Boone
Federal Preservation Officer

Historic Preservation

Nancy.E.Boone@hud.gov

(202) 402-5718

Zach Carter
Environmental Specialist

Noise
Sole Source Aquifers

Zach.R.Carter@hud.gov

(202) 402-6006

Michael Freedberg
Senior Advisor for High Performance Buildings

Better Buildings Challenge
High Performance Buildings

Michael.Freedberg@hud.gov

(202) 402-4366

Josh Geyer
Program Analyst

Better Buildings Challenge
High Performance Buildings

Joshua.M.Geyer@hud.gov

(415) 489-6418

Lauren Hayes Knutson
Environmental Specialist

HEROS
Wild and Scenic Rivers
Endangered Species
Farmlands Protection
Air Quality

Lauren.E.Hayes@hud.gov

(202) 402-4270

Sean Joyner
Management Analyst

Environmental Justice
HEROS

Sean.A.Joyner@hud.gov

(202) 402-4431

Kathy McNulty
Environmental Specialist

Coastal Zone Management
Coastal Barrier Resources
Contamination

Kathleen.A.McNulty@hud.gov

(202) 402-3614

Romona Poole
HEROS System Administrator

HEROS

Romona.Poole@hud.gov

(202) 402-4516

Nelson Rivera
Environmental Engineer

Hazards (Part 51C)
Airport Clear Zones

Nelson.A.Rivera@hud.gov

(202) 402-4455

Liz Zepeda
Senior Environmental Specialist

Part 58
HEROS
Floodplain Management
Wetlands
Flood Insurance

Elizabeth.G.Zepeda@hud.gov

(202) 402-3988

Program Environmental Clearance Officers

States

Name

Phone

Christopher Hartenau
General Counsel

Christopher.H.Hartenau@hud.gov

(202) 402-5189

Danielle Schopp
Office of Native American Programs

Danielle.L.Schopp@hud.gov

(202) 402-4442

Justin Gray
Office of Public Housing

Justin.W.Gray@hud.gov

(202) 402-3721

Karen Griego
Office of Lead Hazard Control and Healthy Homes

Karen.M.Griego@hud.gov

(505) 346-6462

Lauren Hayes Knutson
Office of Community Planning and Development

Lauren.E.Hayes@hud.gov

(202) 402-4270

Sara Jensen
Office of Housing

Sara.Jensen@hud.gov

(206) 220-5226

Susanne Sotirchos
Office of Public Housing

Susanne.A.Sotirchos@hud.gov

(202) 402-2086