Due to the lapse in Congressional Appropriations for Fiscal Year 2019, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is closed. This website is supported by a cooperative agreement funded under a prior appropriation. Current functions will remain operational but no new functions will be added during the lapse in appropriations. For more information, see HUD Contingency Plan for Possible Lapse in Appropriations.

Community Development Block Grant Insular Areas Program

Four U.S. territories (i.e., American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) are funded through the CDBG Insular Areas Program. The program is administered by HUD's Field Offices in Puerto Rico and Hawaii. CDBG is authorized under Title 1 of the Housing and Community Development Act (HCDA) of 1974, Public Law 93-383, as amended; 42 U.S.C.-530.1 et seq. Annual funding for the Insular areas is provided in Section 106 (a)(2) of the HCDA of 1974 as amended.

Explore CDBG

Explore CDBG ScreenshotThis collection of products will help grantees: create transformative impact in your community, improve the lives of residents, especially those with low and moderate income levels; develop strategies that bring partners and resources together; and implement your program effectively.

View Explore CDBG