National Disaster Resilience Competition

On June 22, 2015, 40 states and communities were invited to compete in the second and final phase of the National Disaster Resilience Competition. These finalists — representing areas that experienced a Presidentially-declared major disaster in 2011, 2012, and 2013 — will compete for almost $1 billion in funding for disaster recovery and long-term community resilience. View the full list of finalists.

Over the next few months, finalists will further develop their disaster resilience strategies and propose specific projects. From a total pool of nearly $1 billion, each of these 40 states and communities will be able to request up to $500 million for cutting-edge projects that address unmet needs from past disasters while addressing the vulnerabilities that could put Americans in harm’s way during future disasters. Final submissions are due October 27, 2015. All successful applicants will be required to tie their proposals back to the eligible disaster from which they are recovering. HUD will announce the winners of Phase 2 in early 2016. HUD will ensure that geographic diversity is a consideration in the selection of participating communities.

View the National Disaster Resilience Competition Phase 2 Fact Sheet.

National Disaster Resilience (NDR) Resources

NDR Notice

NDR DRGR Action Plan Review Checklist

NDR Certification Checklist

NDR Guide for Review of Financial Management

National Disaster Resilience Competition Winners

Winners of the National Disaster Resilience Competition were announced on January 21, 2016.

View the announcement of the National Disaster Resilience Competition winners.

Introduction to CDBG National Disaster Resilience Grants

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Grants Management

Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA)

National Disaster Resilience Competition Overview

National Disaster Resilience Competition Phase 2 NOFA

National Disaster Resilience Competition Phase 2 FAQs

National Disaster Resilience Competition Phase 1 FAQs

Most Impacted and Distressed Unmet Recovery Need (MID-URN) Checklist Form

Most Impacted Counties, Disaster Declarations and FEMA Data

Rockefeller Foundation's Capacity Building Initiative for the NDRC

The Rockefeller Foundation has renewed its commitment in Phase 2 to work closely with HUD to encourage and support a culture of resilience around disaster preparedness and planning in American communities. As it did in Phase 1 of NDRC, the Rockefeller Foundation will provide targeted technical assistance to eligible states and communities and support a stakeholder-driven process, informed by the best available data, to identify recovery needs and innovative solutions. The strategic partnership between the Rockefeller Foundation and HUD draws on the best of the Rebuild by Design competition, where the Rockefeller Foundation provided lead support for administration of the competition and community engagement. Rebuild by Design competition produced six winning projects announced in June 2014 to be implemented with $930 million from HUD. These projects serve as models of how philanthropic resources and federal funding can be leveraged to support the design of innovative resilience projects which not only protect people and property from future disasters but also provide highly desirable community amenities like parks and recreation areas. Rebuild by Design encouraged communities to use both traditional "gray" and green infrastructure solutions to recurrent flooding, spurring best thinking to move beyond traditional sea walls to more attractive and sustainable solutions. For more information visit the Rockefeller Foundation's Capacity Building Initiative for the NDRC page.

Rockefeller Foundation FAQs

Training Materials

HUD is offering a series of webinars to discuss NDRC NOFA requirements, answer NDRC NOFA questions, and jump start the climate resilience dialogue.

View upcoming NDRC webinars and access training material from previously held webinars.


Community Resilience Resources

HUD Office of Economic Resilience