Section 811 PRA Program Eligibility Requirements

The Section 811 Project Rental Assistance (PRA) Program, authorized by the Frank Melville Supportive Housing Investment Act of 2010 and first implemented as a demonstration program in FY 2012, seeks to expand the supply of supportive housing that promotes community integration for low-income people with disabilities by leveraging mainstream affordable housing, Medicaid, and other community-based supportive service resources.

Program Funding & Eligible Applicants

The Section 811 PRA Program awards funds to state housing agencies who: a) partner with state Medicaid and/or health and human services agencies that have developed methods for the identification, outreach, and referral of extremely low-income people with disabilities who need PRA-funded units; and b) allocate rental assistance to housing units set aside in affordable housing projects whose capital costs are funded through federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTC), federal HOME funds, or other federal, state, and local funding sources for eligible individuals. 

The Section 811 PRA Program allows state housing agencies flexibility in structuring and administering PRA funds within the confines of the program requirements in the NOFA and statute. PRA funds can only be used to fund project-based rental operating assistance and allowable administrative costs relating to the administration of the Section 811 PRA Program, but cannot be used to fund any development costs. 

To ensure community integration of PRA units, no more than 25 percent of the total units in eligible multifamily properties can: 1) be provided Section 811 PRA funds; 2) be used for supportive housing for persons with disabilities; or 3) have any occupancy preference for persons with disabilities. 

Eligible Tenants

For PRA-funded units, tenants must be extremely low-income (at or below 30 percent of Area Median Income (AMI)) and at least one adult member of the household must have a disability. The person with the disability must be eligible for: community-based, long-term services as provided under the state’s plan for medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act (Medicaid), state funded services, or other appropriate services defined in the written partnership agreement.

Eligible Properties

Properties eligible for the Section 811 PRA Program may be new construction, rehabilitation, or existing properties and owned by a nonprofit, public, or a private entity. Properties must also meet the following requirements:

  • Have a minimum of five housing units
  • Have financing or capital investment from a federal, state, or local program such as the LIHTC, HOME Program, National Housing Trust Fund (HTF), Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), Rural Housing, state bond funds, or other capital funding sources
  • Eligible units in the property cannot already have project-based operating housing subsidy, or had a long-term subsidy attached
  • Properties with existing use restrictions for people with disabilities may not be eligible
  • Projects restricted to persons 62 years and older are not eligible

Related Resources

Learn more about HFAs or Find your state HFA (National Council of State Housing Agencies)

Find your State Medicaid Agency (National Association of Medicaid Directors)

The Section 811 Supportive Housing for Persons with Disabilities Program (