CoC Program Components

Virtual Binders

CoC Program Components Overview

This binder contains information and guidance that recipients can use to ensure understanding of the purpose and requirements related to Section 578.37 of the CoC Program Interim Rule and program components.

If you are new to the CoC Program, view the following resources for an introduction to program components as outlined in the CoC Program Interim Rule:

Looking for definitions of the common CoC and ESG Program terms referenced throughout the Virtual Binders?

Virtual Binders Glossary

What are program components? (24 CFR § 578.37)

CoC Program funds may be used for projects under five different categories, known as program components. These components are:

  1. Permanent Housing (PH)
    1. Permanent Supportive Housing (PSH) – (§ 578.37(a)(1))
    2. Rapid Re-Housing (RRH) – (§ 578.37(a)(1)(ii))
  2. Transitional Housing (TH) – (§ 578.37(a)(2))
  3. Supportive Services Only (SSO) – (§ 578.37(a)(3))
  4. Homeless Management Information System (HMIS) – (§ 578.37(a)(4))
  5. Homelessness Prevention (HP) – (§ 578.37(a)(5))

Can CoC-funded projects include more than one program component?

Traditionally, a CoC-funded project could only include one program component.

However, as part of the 2017 CoC Program Competition, HUD announced that communities could apply for Joint Transitional Housing and PH-Rapid Re-Housing Component projects, a new type of project that combined the activities of Transitional Housing with those of Rapid Re-Housing into a single project.