Note: This FAQ relates to HMIS, CoC


What is the difference between HMIS as a program component and HMIS as an eligible cost?

Date Published: August 2012

Print ShareThis


Under the CoC Program, HMIS can be funded as a program component and an eligible cost.

Program components establish the overall purpose and nature of the project that is being funded, whereas eligible costs specify what may be funded by the grant. Each program component is associated with eligible costs. There are five CoC Program components. All CoC projects must fit into one of these components. A project cannot include multiple components. When preparing a grant application, an applicant must first choose the program component that they want to apply under, and then it must specify the eligible costs it is seeking to be funded by the grant.

Allowable CoC Program Components include:

  1. Permanent housing (which includes permanent supportive housing for people with disabilities and rapid re-housing)
  2. Transitional housing
  3. Supportive services only
  4. HMIS
  5. Homelessness prevention

Only an HMIS lead may apply for an HMIS dedicated project (i.e., HMIS component), whereas any project applicant may include HMIS eligible costs in their grant applications under the other program components. Eligible costs under the HMIS component are broader than those allowed under other program components. 

For example, the Homeless Coalition, the HMIS lead for the CoC, receives a CoC Program grant under the HMIS program component to fund its CoC-wide HMIS system, including leasing its offices, staffing the CoC-wide system, and other costs associated with operating the HMIS. A different agency within the CoC receives a CoC Program grant under the permanent housing program component, which includes HMIS eligible costs to fund HMIS licenses and other costs associated with contributing data to the HMIS.

Tags: Program Administration - General CoC Program Requirements - HMIS Eligible Costs HMIS CoC