HUD Environmental Staff Contacts

HUD has expert staff in locations around the country to assist persons involved in the environmental review of HUD-funded projects. The first step should be to contact them via email with any questions that you cannot answer by browsing the basic information available on this web site.

Headquarters Environmental Staff: HUD’s Office of Environment and Energy includes various national level specialists headquartered in Washington, DC.

Program Environmental Clearance Officers: Program Officers that are knowledgeable about specific program areas within HUD may be able to provide additional information about environmental issues pertaining to their area.

Regional and Field Environmental Officers: Locate your nearest HUD professional environmental staff person who can help you understand how to use the environmental assessment process to improve the quality of your project.

Find by Contact Type

Headquarters Environmental Staff

Room 7212
451 7th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20410

Name

Subject Area

Email

Phone

Danielle Schopp
Director, Office of Environment and Energy

 

danielle.l.schopp@hud.gov

(202) 402-4442

Barbara Britton
Director, Enviromental Review Division

 

barbara.r.britton@hud.gov

(202) 402-2606

Marcel Tchaou
Director, Environmental Planning Division

 

marcel.k.tchaou@hud.gov

(202) 402-7077

Nancy Boone
Federal Preservation Officer

Historic Preservation

nancy.e.boone@hud.gov

(202) 402-5718

Lauren Hayes
Presidential Management Fellow

Wild and Scenic Rivers
HEROS Team
Endangered Species
Farmlands Protection
Air Quality

lauren.e.hayes@hud.gov

(202) 402-4270

Lauren McNamara
Senior Environmental Specialist

Coastal Barriers Resources
Coastal Zone Management
Sole Source Aquifers
Part 58 (secondary)
HEROS Team

lauren.b.mcnamara@hud.gov

(202) 402-4466

Romona Poole
HEROS System Administrator

HEROS Team

romona.poole@hud.gov

(202) 402-4516

Jim Potter
Community Planner

Noise
Environmental Justice
Floodplains (secondary)

james.m.potter@hud.gov

(202) 402-4610

Nelson Rivera
Environmental Engineer

Hazards (Part 51C) Contamination
Airport Clear Zones
Noise (secondary)

nelson.a.rivera@hud.gov

(202) 402-4455

Liz Zepeda
Senior Environmental Specialist

Part 58
HEROS Team
Floodplain Management
Wetlands
Flood Insurance

elizabeth.g.zepeda@hud.gov

(202) 402-3988

Program Environmental Clearance Officers

Name

Email

Phone

Christopher Hartenau
General Counsel

christopher.h.hartenau@hud.gov

(202) 402-5189

Hilary Atkin
Office of Native American Programs

hilary.c.atkin@hud.gov

(202) 402-3427

Karen Griego
Office of Lead Hazard Control and Healthy Homes

karen.m.griego@hud.gov

(505) 346-6462

Lauren B. McNamara
Office of Community Planning and Development

lauren.b.mcnamara@hud.gov

(202) 402-4466

Sara Jensen
Office of Housing

Sara.Jensen@hud.gov

(206) 220-5226

Susanne Sotirchos
Office of Public Housing

Susanne.A.Sotirchos@hud.gov

(202) 402-2086

Region I

States

Name

Phone

Boston
(CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)

Martha A. Curran 
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Boston Regional Office
10 Causeway Street, Room 535
Boston, MA  02222-1092
martha.a.curran@hud.gov
Website

(617) 994-8363

Region II

States

Name

Phone

New York
(NY)

Therese J. Fretwell
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - New York City Regional Office
26 Federal Plaza
New York, NY 10278
Therese.J.Fretwell@hud.gov
Website

(212) 542-7445

Newark
(NJ)

Michael R. Furda
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Newark Field Office
One Newark Center
1085 Raymond Boulevard
Newark, NJ 07102
Michael.R.Furda@hud.gov
Website

(973) 776-7202

Newark
(NJ)

Donna Mahon
Field Environmental Officer (Disaster Recovery – CT and NJ)
HUD - Newark Field Office
One Newark Center
1085 Raymond Boulevard
Newark, NJ 07102
Donna.N.Mahon@HUD.gov

(973) 776-7260

Region III

States

Name

Phone

Philadelphia
(PA: SE, Philadelphia, CDBG Small Cities)
(DE, MD, WV, DC)

Paul J. Lehmann
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Philadelphia Field Office
The Wanamaker Building
100 Penn Square East, 11th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Paul.J.Lehmann@hud.gov
Website

(215) 430-6636

Pittsburgh
(PA: NW - SW - NE)

Michael E. Whitelock
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Pittsburgh Field Office
Moohead Federal Building
1000 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Michael.E.Whitelock@hud.gov
Website

(412) 644-6932

Richmond
(VA)

Kerry Johnson
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Richmond Field Office
600 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219-1800
Kerry.Johnson@hud.gov
Website

(804) 822-4803

Region IV

States

Name

Phone

Atlanta
(KY, Disaster Recovery Grants)

Sandra Frye
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Atlanta Regional Office
40 Marietta Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30303-3388
Sandra.L.Frye@hud.gov
Website

(678) 732-2727

Atlanta
(AL, GA, MS)

Ramona K. McConney
Field Environmental Officer
Five Points Plaza Building – 15th Floor
40 Marietta Street
Atlanta, GA 30303-2806
Ramona.K.McConney@hud.gov

(678) 732-2394

Greensboro
(NC, SC)

Lenwood E. Smith
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Greensboro Field Office
1500 Pinecroft Road, Suite 401
Greensboro, NC 27407-3838
Lenwood.E.Smith@hud.gov
Website

(336) 547-4000 ext. 2054

Miami
(South FL, Puerto Rico, Vitgin Islands)

Al Cazzoli
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Miami Field Office
909 SE First Avenue, Suite 500
Miami, FL 33131-3028
Ubaldo.A.Cazzoli@hud.gov
Website

(305) 520-5005

Atlanta
(TN, North FL)

Chuck Melton
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Atlanta Regional Office
40 Marietta Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30303-3388
Chuck.A.Melton@hud.gov
Website

(678) 732-2133

Region V

States

Name

Phone

Kansas
(KS, NE, IA, MO)

Paul F. Mohr
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Kansas City Regional Office
400 State Street, Rm 200
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Paul.F.Mohr@hud.gov
Website

(913) 551-5818

Chicago
(IL, IN, OH)

Melanie H. Castillo
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Chicago Regional Office
Metcalf Fed. Bldg.
77 W. Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60604-3507
Melanie.H.Castillo@hud.gov
Website

(312) 913-8723

Detroit
(MI)

Carmen Reveron
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Detroit Field Office
McNamara Federal Building
477 Michigan Avenue
Detroit, MI 48226
Carmen.E.Reveron@hud.gov
Website

(313) 234-7370

Minneapolis
(MN, WI)

David A. Nuccio
920 Second Avenue South
Suite 1300
Minneapolis, MN 55402
David.A.Nuccio@hud.gov

(612) 843-6417

Region VI

States

Name

Phone

New Mexico

David Storms
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
801 Cherry Street, Room 2862
Fort Worth, Texas 76102
David.A.Storms@hud.gov

(817) 978-5540

Fort Worth Field Office, Oklahoma, State of Texas HUD Administrators

Laura L. Myers
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
801 Cherry Street, Unit #45, Ste. 2500
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Laura.L.Myers@hud.gov

(817) 978-5947

Houston and San Antonio Field Offices, State of Texas CDBG-DR Program

Zach Carter
HUD - Fort Worth Regional Office
801 Cherry Street, Unit #45, Ste. 2500
Fort Worth, TX 76102
Zach.R.Carter@hud.gov

(817) 978-5835

Arkansas, Louisiana, State of Louisiana CDBG-DR Program

Shelia H. Perine
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - New Orleans Field Office
500 Poydras Street, 9th Floor
New Orleans, LA 70130
Shelia.H.Perine@hud.gov
Website

(504) 671-3757

Region VII

States

Name

Phone

Kansas
(KS, NE, IA, MO)

Paul F. Mohr
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Kansas City Regional Office
400 State Street, Rm 200
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Paul.F.Mohr@hud.gov
Website

(913) 551-5818

Kansas
(KS, NE, IA, MO)

Sam W. Gieryn
Environmental Specialist
HUD - Kansas City Regional Office
400 State Street, Rm 200
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Samuel.W. Gieryn@hud.gov 
Website

(913) 948-5246

Region VIII

States

Name

Phone

Kansas
(KS, NE, IA, MO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)

Paul F. Mohr
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Kansas City Regional Office
400 State Street
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Paul.F.Mohr@hud.gov
Website

(913) 551-5818

Colorado
(CO, MT, ND, SD, WY, UT)

Jerimiah J. Sanders
1670 Broadway Blvd.
25th Floor
Denver, CO 80202
jerimiah.j.sanders@hud.gov

(303) 672-5282

Region IX

States

Name

Phone

AZ, CA, HI, GU, NV, WA, ID, OR, AK

Deborah Peavler-Stewart
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Seattle Regional Office
909-1st Avenue, Suite 255
Seattle, WA 98104-1000
Deborah.PeavlerStewart@hud.gov

(206) 220-5414

AZ - Northern CA - NV

Northern CA:
also NV, HI, Guam

Kathleen McNulty
Environmental Protection Specialist
HUD - San Francisco Regional Office
Region 9, Office of Environment and Energy
One Sansome Street, Suite 1200
San Francisco, CA 94104
Kathleen.a.mcnulty@hud.gov
Website

(415) 489-6644

CA

Stan Toal
Environmental Protection Specialist
HUD - San Francisco Regional Office
Region 9, Office of Environment and Energy
One Sansome Street, Suite 1200
San Francisco, CA 94104
Stanley.W.Toal@hud.gov
Website

(415) 489-6668

Southern CA

Los Angeles, Riverside,
San Diego, and Imperial Counties

Michelle Simmons
Environmental Protection Specialist
Los Angeles Federal Building
HUD - Los Angeles Field Office (LAFO)
300 North Los Angeles Street, Suite 4054
Los Angeles, CA 90012 Michelle.Simmons@hud.gov
Website

(213) 534-2772

Southern CA

Kern, Orange, San Bernardino, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, and Ventura Counties

Bonnie J. Hulkower
Environmental Protection Specialist
Los Angeles Federal Building
HUD - Los Angeles Field Office (LAFO)
300 North Los Angeles Street, Suite 4054
Los Angeles, CA 90012 bonnie.j.hulkower@hud.gov
Website

(213) 534-2539

Region X

States

Name

Phone

Seattle
(WA, ID, OR, AK)

Deborah Peavler-Stewart
Regional Environmental Officer
HUD - Seattle Regional Office
909-1st Avenue, Suite 255
Seattle, WA 98104-1000
Deborah.PeavlerStewart@hud.gov
Website

(206) 220-5414

Seattle
(WA, ID, OR, AK)

Brian Sturdivant
Field Environmental Officer
HUD - Seattle Regional Office
909-1st Avenue, Suite 255
Seattle, WA 98104-1000
Brian.Sturdivant@hud.gov
Website

(206) 220-5377